**Public Document Pack** 



# APPOINTMENTS SUB COMMITTEE AGENDA

10.00 am		rsday y 2017	Town Hall
Members 7: Quorum 3			
COUNCILLORS:			
Conservative Group (3)	Residents' Group (1)	East Havering Residents' Group ( 1)	
Philippa Crowder (Chairman) Damian White Wendy Brice- Thompson	Ray Morgon	Clarence Barrett (Vice-Chair)	
UKIP ( 1)	Independent Residents' Group ( 1)		
Lawrence Webb	Jeffrey Tucker		

For information about the meeting please contact: Anthony Clements anthony.clements@onesource.co.uk

#### **AGENDA ITEMS**

#### 1 CHAIRMAN'S ANNOUNCEMENT

The Chairman will announce details of the arrangements in case of fire or other events that might require the meeting room or building's evacuation.

#### 2 APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE AND ANNOUNCEMENT OF SUBSTITUTE MEMBERS

(If any) - receive

#### **3 DISCLOSURE OF INTERESTS**

Members are invited to disclose any interest in any of the items on the agenda at this point of the meeting.

Members may still disclose any interest in an item at any time prior to the consideration of the matter

#### 4 **MINUTES** (Pages 1 - 6)

To approve as correct records, the Minutes of the meeting of the Sub-Committee held on 23 and 28 November and 9 December 2016, and to authorise the Chairman to sign them

#### 5 EXCLUSION OF THE PUBLIC

To consider whether the public should now be excluded from the remainder of the meeting on the grounds that it is likely that, in view of the nature of the business to be transacted or the nature of the proceedings, if members of the public were present during these items there would be disclosure to them of exempt information within the meaning of paragraph 1 of Schedule 12A to the Local Government Act 1972; and, if it is decided to exclude the public on these grounds, the Sub-Committee to resolve accordingly on the motion of the Chairman.

#### 6 APPOINTMENT TO THE POST OF ASSISTANT DIRECTOR OF DEVELOPMENT (Pages 7 - 52)

Details to follow; (not available to press or public)

Andrew Beesley Head of Democratic Services

## Public Document Pack Agenda Item 4

#### MINUTES OF A MEETING OF THE APPOINTMENTS SUB COMMITTEE Town Hall Main Road Romford 23 November 2016 (2.30 - 5.15 pm)

Present:

COUNCILLORS

Conservative Group	Roger Ramsey (Chairman), Damian White and Wendy Brice-Thompson
Residents' Group	Ray Morgon
East Havering Residents' Group	+Gillian Ford
UKIP Group	Lawrence Webb
Independent Residents Group	+Michael Deon Burton

Apologies were received for the absence of Councillors Clarence Barrett and Jeffrey Tucker.

+Substitute Member: Councillor Gillian Ford (for Clarence Barrett) and Michael Deon Burton (for Jeffrey Tucker)

All decisions were taken with no votes against.

The Chairman reminded Members of the action to be taken in an emergency.

#### 4 MINUTES

The minutes of the sub-committee held on 19 May 2016 were agreed as a correct record and signed by the Chairman.

#### 5 EXCLUSION OF THE PUBLIC

It was RESOLVED that the public be excluded from the remainder of the meeting on the grounds that it was likely that, in view of the nature of the business to be transacted or the nature of the proceedings, if members of the public were present during those items there would be disclosure to them of exempt information within the meaning of paragraph 1 of Schedule 12A to the Local Government Act 1972.

#### 6 **APPOINTMENT TO THE POST OF DIRECTOR OF NEIGHBOURHOODS**

The Sub-Committee, having seen the presentations of each of the candidates invited for interview and satisfied themselves by questioning them in turn, then deliberated on their individual merits.

After careful consideration of the relative strengths and experience of the candidates as indicated by their application, their performance at the assessment centre, their presentation and by interview, the Committee agreed unanimously

#### **RESOLVED:**

That:

a) Steve Moore, currently Interim Director of Neighbourhoods, LB Havering, be appointed to the post of Director of Neighbourhoods, subject to the notification provisions of paragraph 12 of the Staff Employment Procedure Rules set out in part 4 of Havering's Constitution.

Chairman

## Public Document Pack

#### MINUTES OF A MEETING OF THE APPOINTMENTS SUB COMMITTEE Town Hall Main Road Romford 28 November 2016 (14:30 – 14:45)

Present:

COUNCILLORS

Conservative Group	Roger Ramsey (Chairman), Damian White and Wendy Brice-Thompson
Residents' Group	Ray Morgon
East Havering Residents' Group	+Linda Van Den Hende
UKIP Group Independent Residents Group	Patricia Rumble

Apologies were received for the absence of Councillors Clarence Barrett, Jeffrey Tucker and Lawrence Webb.

+Substitute Member: Councillor Linda Van den Hende (for Clarence Barrett) and Patricia Rumble (for Lawrence Webb)

All decisions were taken with no votes against.

The Chairman reminded Members of the action to be taken in an emergency.

#### 7 EXCLUSION OF THE PUBLIC

It was RESOLVED that the public be excluded from the remainder of the meeting on the grounds that it was likely that, in view of the nature of the business to be transacted or the nature of the proceedings, if members of the public were present during those items there would be disclosure to them of exempt information within the meaning of paragraph 1 of Schedule 12A to the Local Government Act 1972.

#### 8 APPOINTMENT TO THE POST OF ASSISTANT DIRECTOR, ENVIRONMENT

The Sub-Committee, having seen the presentation of the candidate invited for interview and satisfied themselves by questioning, then deliberated on the candidate's individual merits. After careful consideration, the Sub-Committee agreed unanimously not to appoint the candidate to the post of Assistant Director of Environment.

Chairman

## Public Document Pack

#### MINUTES OF A MEETING OF THE APPOINTMENTS SUB COMMITTEE Town Hall 9 December 2016 (10.00 - 11.25 am)

Present:

COUNCILLORS

Conservative Group	Roger Ramsey (Chairman) and Wendy Brice- Thompson
Residents' Group	Ray Morgon
East Havering Residents' Group	Clarence Barrett
UKIP Group Independent Residents Group	+Patricia Rumble +Michael Deon Burton

Apologies were received for the absence of Councillors Jeffrey Tucker, Lawrence Webb and Damian White.

+Substitute Member: Councillor Michael Deon Burton (for Jeffrey Tucker) and Patricia Rumble (for Lawrence Webb).

All decisions were taken with no votes against.

The Chairman reminded Members of the action to be taken in an emergency.

#### 9 EXCLUSION OF THE PUBLIC

It was RESOLVED that the public be excluded from the remainder of the meeting on the grounds that it was likely that, in view of the nature of the business to be transacted or the nature of the proceedings, if members of the public were present during those items there would be disclosure to them of exempt information within the meaning of paragraph 1 of Schedule 12A to the Local Government Act 1972.

#### 10 APPOINTMENT TO THE POST OF ASSISTANT DIRECTOR OF ENVIRONMENT

The Sub-Committee, having seen the presentations of the candidate invited for interview and satisfied by questioning then deliberated on her individual merits. After careful consideration of the relative strengths and experience of the candidate, the Committee agreed unanimously to appoint Dipti Patel to the post of Assistant Director of Environment subject to the notification provisions of paragraph 12 of the Staff Employment Procedure Rules set out in part 4 of Havering's Constitution.

Chairman

# Agenda Item 6

By virtue of paragraph(s) 1 of Part 1 of Schedule 12A of the Local Government Act 1972.

Document is Restricted

This page is intentionally left blank